@ChrisBrogan Job Search Webinar & @Hirekyle Bonus

I’m giving over todays post to 2 people who I think are doing great things in the social job search. The first is someone you probably all know, Chris Brogan.
Chris is the real deal when it comes to social media. His book “Trust Agents” (Co-written with Julien Smith), is a must read.
I blogged about Chris on Christmas day, after he had sent me 2 messages Christmas Eve. I was impressed that he had taken the time out to reply, and I was even more taken back that he commented on my blog 3 times on Christmas day. A rare level of engagement indeed!
Chris is hosting a webinar specifically for job seekers on Thursday 30′th Sept, 7.00 – 8.15 EDT or 11.00 PM – 12.15 PM. called Enhance Your job Search With Social Presence.

To register for this webinar, and I recommend you do, click on Chris’s picture below and go to the registration page. Book it now before you get over subscribed.
The webinar is sponsored by newly launched Human Business Works.e

Click on Chris to get the Webinar

The second person I’m highlighting is much less famous than Chris, but no less worthy  to share the post.  He has  started a campaign to get hired via social media that I think we can all learn something from.
Kyle Clark is a recent graduate from the UK, who has started a “Hire Me” campaign is going viral by the minute. It’s a mix of audacity and creativity. great for social media.

His approach has been to set up a micro-site to highlight his skills, outlined by his @Hirekyle twitter handle.
The site is well designed, as good as you would see from any design house. Take the time to take a look, it takes job seeker branding to a new level. Kyle has had his site up for a few days now, and on the site alone he has achieved 131 tweets and 147 shares. I’m sure Chris would be more than approving of this social campaign to find not just a job, but the right job!

The headings on Kyle’s site are:

* THE CAMPAIGN
* KYLE’S CV (You can view it or download a hard copy.)
* IDEAL ROLE
* BID
* CONTACT

Under the Challenge page, Kyle describes the challenge as:

To get as many people as possible to bid for my services as an employee over the next 2 months.

I decided to MAKE the EMPLOYKYLE campaign to find the perfect job. Or perhaps for the perfect job to find me! With over 70 graduates going for each graduate job, it’s pretty hard to get noticed! This is my subtle way of saying notice ME and demonstrating that I will go the extra mile to stand out. The idea of this campaign is that employers look at my CV, have a think about the value I could add to their company, and then make me AN offer. Unlike ebay, I won’t simply go to the highest bidder, I’ll go to the best bidder. So go on, make me an OFFER.

Being a social campaign, you can follow EmployKyle on twitter, Friend him on Facebook or even e-mail him direct. There are multiple points of contact, all Kyle needs now is to add You Tube and Linked In to complete the set.

The website is profesionally produced by lemonfreshdesign in Norwich. I have no idea of the cost, but it looks to be a very good investment. Theres a clock counting down the days to the end of the campaign, and some funky widgets to drill down in to the C.V. for more detail.

Given the effort that has gone in to Hire Kyle campaign, and it’s viral social nature, I wanted to share it with you. Think big, be social,and you might just land the big job.

DON’T FORGET TO BOOK THE WEBINAR!!!

Links In This Post

The Webinar

My Blog Post: Merry christmas Chris Brogan

Trust Agents At Amazon (Buy It)

EmployKyle


About @BillBoorman
“I have always worked in and around recruiting as a Recruiter, Trainer, Operations Director, Consultant and Coach. I have spent more than 27 years in this industry which sadly qualifies me as a veteran. (substitute old!) During this time I have worked in most markets and have been responsible for the full H.R. and Training function for a recruitment business that grew from 6 to 147 branches. I have implemented I.T systems, designed performance management and appraisal systems among most other things. Over the last 5 years I have been working as a consultant and trainer to growing recruiting firms across Europe. The last 18 months saw my introduction to social media and social recruiting. I started with 50 connections on Linked In (mostly friends) and grew from there. signing up for a twitter account in March 2009 changed everything, as I was given access to a fantastic network worldwide. In Feb 2009 I was honoured and surprised to be ranked in the HR Examiner/trakkr index as the 6′th most influential on-line recruiter in the world. Despite this accolade, I still consider myself to be very much a social media amateur (there are lots more in my network that are much wiser and cleverer. I’m now best known as @BillBoorman on twitter, and have been described a twitterholic that never sleeps, omnipresent and even a whirling dervish! (Thanks @fishdogs.) In September 2009 I attended an event in Toronto (Recruitfest 09) that had a major impact on me. This was my first stint as a track leader at an unconference. I was so taken by this open format that I brought it back to the UK and with Geoff Webb, (Radical Recruit), launched #trulondon and other #tru events. We are in the process of taking these events on a global tour stretching from london to china over the next 2 years. I love the buzz these events create, and enjoy them as much on-line as off it.

2 Responses to @ChrisBrogan Job Search Webinar & @Hirekyle Bonus

  1. HRMargo Rose says:

    Bill I love you MAN. I love your dedication, hardwork, and commitment to help job seekers around the world. You, my friend are the real deal, so add yourself to the list of Greats. You are most certainly on mine!

  2. Pingback: @employkyle is coming to #truNora « #truNORA

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

